Skip to main content

Obtenez une vue complète de votre entreprise et établissez un référentiel des opérations normales, de façon à savoir exactement quand et où survient une activité inhabituelle

Les performances et la connaissance situationnelle sont fondamentales pour la réussite des missions. Les entités gouvernementales étendent leurs réseaux afin de prendre en charge des environnements distants et virtuels, créant ainsi davantage de points d'accès et de points de risque. Sans visibilité en temps réel sur l’ensemble des activités du réseau, des applications et des appareils, impossible de détecter les menaces et d’y répondre assez vite pour maintenir des performances optimales.

Alors que la cyber-sécurité traite ce qui s’est déjà produit, Riverbed permet la cyber-résilience : la capacité à réagir et à récupérer en fonction de ce qui se produit en ce moment et de ce qui risque de se produire ensuite. Riverbed aide les équipes IT à réduire au minimum l'impact de la sécurité sur les performances réseau en ajoutant aux programmes de sécurité existants une visibilité complète et la conformité au FISMA.

Ainsi, vous pouvez prévenir et diagnostiquer de manière proactive des événements potentiellement catastrophiques, avant qu'ils ne causent des dommages critiques. Une précision analytique élevée filtre les faux positifs pour que vous puissiez travailler avec des informations utilisables et éradiquer les menaces réelles avec rapidité et efficacité.

Nos solutions permettent :

  • La surveillance continue
  • La détection et le signalement des anomalies
  • L’analyse de l'origine des problèmes
  • L’évaluation des risques
  • La modélisation des menaces

La conjugaison de ces fonctionnalités aide les organismes à trouver, catégoriser, réduire et prévoir les menaces en temps réel, sous tous les angles. Ils peuvent ainsi continuer à opérer avec des niveaux de performance optimaux.

Le challenge

Une entité militaire souhaitait modéliser une attaque DDoS (déni de service distribué) simulée sur son infrastructure informatique, en prenant en compte le secteur public, le secteur privé et les ressources IT de l'infrastructure stratégique au niveau national. Son but était double : Évaluer les effets, mineurs, moyens ou majeurs, des attaques DDoS sur le réseau, et collecter des données de trafic réseau pour détecter et atténuer des scénarios en situation réelle.

La solution

En utilisant ses outils de profilage SteelCentral, Riverbed a pu établir les données réseau de référence dans un scénario « sans attaque », puis suivre l’augmentation des temps de réponse au cours d'attaques DDos de plus en plus graves.

Les avantages

Dans le scénario le plus grave, avec 34 nœuds de réseau infectés, Riverbed a détecté un trafic réseau dépassant 2 Mo généré par l’attaque DDoS, avec un déni de service total pour le matériel militaire, et une utilisation du processeur de 100 % pendant la durée de l'attaque.

À l'aide de ces informations, le client militaire a pu modéliser des attaques DDoS et déployer des systèmes d'avertissement avancés pour renforcer le réseau face aux attaques réelles.

visibility and cyber resilience government use case

You have to be diligent…in how you respond to risk, how you monitor [and] how you assess your systems, because the climate is getting more dangerous.
Willie Crenshaw, Jr.
Service Executive for Governance, Risk and Compliance
NASA

Solution Resources

Riverbed Network Transformation Summit

At the 2021 Network Transformation Summit government and industry leaders & decision-makers explored how greater visibility increases security, trust, performance, and end-user experiences.
learn more

Trusting Your Network in the SUNBURST Aftermath

In this global webcast, an expert panel of security and networking professionals take an in-depth and technical look at challenges and best practices related to cyber threat hunting in the aftermath of the SUNBURST attack.
learn more

Vous êtes prêt ?

Exploitez pleinement le potentiel de vos investissements dans le digital avec Riverbed

Skip to main content

Gain a complete view of your enterprise and establish a baseline for normal operations, so you know exactly when — and where — there’s unusual activity

Performance and situational awareness are key to mission success. Agencies are expanding their networks to support remote and virtual environments — creating more points of access, and more points of risk. Without real-time visibility to all network, app and device activity, you can’t detect and remediate threats fast enough to maintain top performance.

While cybersecurity deals with what’s already happened, Riverbed enables cyber resilience—the ability to respond and recover based on what’s happening now, and what’s likely to happen next. Riverbed helps IT teams minimize security’s effect on network performance while complementing existing security programs with complete visibility and FISMA compliance.

As a result, you can proactively prevent and troubleshoot potentially catastrophic events before they can do critical damage. High analytic precision filters out false positives so you’re working with truly actionable intelligence — letting you zero-in on real threats quickly and effectively.

Our solutions offer:

  • Continuous monitoring
  • Anomaly detection and reporting
  • Root cause analysis
  • Risk assessment
  • Threat modeling

Together, these capabilities help agencies find, triage, mitigate and predict threats in real time, from every angle — so they can continue to operate at optimal performance levels.

Challenge

A military entity wanted to model a simulated DDoS attack on its IT infrastructure, taking into account the nation’s public sector, private sector and critical infrastructure IT resources. Its goal was twofold: To assess what effects minor, medium or major DDoS attacks would have across the network, and to collect network traffic data to both help detect and mitigate real-life scenarios.

Solution

Using its SteelCentral profiling tools, Riverbed was able to benchmark network data in a “no attack” scenario, then track the relative increases in response times across increasingly severe DDoS attacks.

Benefits

In the most severe attack scenario, with 34 infected network nodes, Riverbed uncovered generated DDoS network traffic in excess of 2Mbs, rendering a total denial of service to military hardware and 100 percent CPU utilization for the duration of the attack.

Using this information, the military customer was able to create DDoS attack templates and deploy advanced warning systems to harden the network against real-life attack.

MORE USE CASES

visibility and cyber resilience government use case

You have to be diligent…in how you respond to risk, how you monitor [and] how you assess your systems, because the climate is getting more dangerous.
Willie Crenshaw, Jr.
Service Executive for Governance, Risk and Compliance
NASA

Solution Resources

Ready to get started?

Reach the full potential of your digital investments with Riverbed